Sunday, 1 April 2012

The Shadow of Your Smile

by Vadim Eilenkrig

Vadim Eilenkrig is a really cool Russian jazz trumpetist. I never heard about him before I got that stack of CDs two weeks ago. So more fun it was to discover his music. On this recording, he plays with Igor Butman (sax), Hiram Bullock (guitar), David Garfield (keyboards), Will Lee (bass) and Chris Parker (drums).

I loved Groove, Promise, Syndrome and This is Love, all composed by Nick Levinovsky of Аллегро fame. The title track(s), also arranged by Levinovsky, could have been the best — if they were not destroyed by rap. Worse than that: getting Randy Brecker to rap? He ain’t a rapper. Why didn’t they ask him to play trumpet instead? Not content with that, the band recorded that second version of this song with... rap in Russian. Double yuck!

No comments:

Post a Comment